Public Art Committee Charge

The goal of the Public Art Committee is to oversee implementation of a strategic plan for public art at Stanford, including both outdoor art and art in public spaces of academic buildings and other campus facilities.

The strategic plan is grounded in the following values:

- The public art program at Stanford is a vital part of the academic mission of the university.
- Stanford's public art will make connections across disciplines.
- Public art should be addressed in all new campus building projects and in the university's strategic campus plan.
- Stanford's public art will reflect the dynamic spirit of the university.
- The public art program will feature works at the highest level of achievement.

The Public Art Committee will ensure that the values set out above are manifested through targeted projects designed for impact:

- Create a visceral effect of dynamism, aesthetic investment, and creative vitality for all visitors to Stanford campus.
- Enliven, invigorate, and challenge faculty and student users of each campus building.
- Create a tangible expression for all Stanford stakeholders of the importance of art to Stanford's academic mission.
- Make Stanford a destination for public art, drawing on its unique natural and built environment.

The committee will develop and execute a structure for decision-making, including parameters for donations. It will advise on sustainable funding, governance, and operations. And it will outline the role of public art on other Stanford campuses (e.g. Redwood City).

The Committee is sponsored by the Vice President for the Arts. It will make recommendations for the acquisition, creation, or installation of works of art to meet the goals above. Proposals for projects with university visibility will be approved by the President.

MEMBERSHIP

The Panel and its chair both, to be appointed by the President, shall include thirteen (13) voting members composed as follows:

- Committee chair who will be designated from among the 13 members
- Two faculty members nominated through the Committee on Committees. Faculty
 members may have relevant areas of expertise but shall be appointed as
 representatives of broad faculty interests not as subject experts.
- Two student members (one undergraduate, one graduate) with interest in public art and/or campus engagement, nominated by the ASSU Committee on Nominations.
- Two members with interest in public art drawn from the staff or volunteer community

- Two Board of Trustees representatives, at least one drawn from the Land & Buildings committee
- The following members serve ex officio:
 - The vice president for the arts
 - o The chair of the Arts Advisory Council
 - The director of the Cantor Arts Center
 - The university architect
 - The senior development representative for the arts

The terms of membership shall be for two years, staggered to provide continuity. The student members will be appointed for one year, with a preference that they be reappointed to a second one-year term. Appointments shall be effective September 1 of the year of appointment and ending August 31 of the second year.

MEETINGS

The Committee shall normally meet two times during the academic year and as required by business.

STAFF SUPPORT

The Vice President for the Arts is responsible for providing staff and administrative assistance to the Committee.

REPORTS

The Chair of the Committee shall submit an annual report of its discussions, action, and recommendation to the President of the university, no later than August 31.

2023-24 Public Art Committee Members

Deborah Cullinan (Co-Chair)

Vice President for the Arts, Vice Presidency for the Arts

David Lenox (Co-Chair)

University Architect and Executive Director, Campus Planning & Design, UA & Planning Office

Katharine "Kate" B. Duhamel Member, Board of Trustees

Sakurako D. Fisher Member, Board of Trustees

Nicholas Jenkins

Associate Professor of English, English Department

Hideo Mabuchi

Professor of Applied Physics, Applied Physics Department

Sydney Kaminski Undergraduate, Art & Art History

[Graduate, Student member]

Deedee McMurtry

Member, Arts Advisory Council and Cantor Director's Advisory Board

Debi Wisch

Member, Cantor Director's Advisory Board

Maude Brezinski

Senior Director of Development for the Arts, Development - Arts Programs

Veronica Roberts

John and Jill Freidenrich Director at the Cantor Arts Center

Vaughn C. Williams

Chair, Arts Advisory Council

Anne Shulock, Staff Liaison

Assistant Vice President for the Arts, Vice Presidency for the Arts

000000